When Films Become Notable: Movies Which are Worth Your Time (Part 1)

Do you love watching movies? As for me, I do. Watching movies serves as my firewall between monotony and boredom. It breaks the mundane atmosphere which envelopes me as I fulfill my academic duties and organizational tasks. My favorites are those which belong to the horror genre though I also watch love stories, adventures and melodramas.

Some of the movies which I really liked are identified below.

Image1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012)

Stunned by the storyline. Draws too many life lessons, most relevant of which is this: human beings aren’t just mere “beings”, but are also “becomings”. Ezra Miller’s performance is worthy of note. Glad to see Emma Watson again (now, without the Hogwarts robe). Thumbs up.

Image2. Les Miserables (2012)

Just wow. A stunning gem of a work. Those who are not used to watching “sung-through” musical films can find sweet repose in this Tom Hooper masterpiece.

Some critics, however, opined that the movie isn’t perfect and the direction inferior in comparison with Hooper’s Oscar-winning “The King’s Speech.” Hmmm. Alluring vocals, grandiose production, spine-tinkling performances, artistic cinematography, brilliant ensemble cast – what more can I ask for? As for me, Les Mis has not failed my expectations. It equally established leverage which has been duly accorded among its well-celebrated predecessors.🙂

NOTABLE PERFORMANCES: Hugh Jackman (Jean Valjean); Anne Hathaway (Fantine); Eddie Redmayne (Marius Pontmercy); Samantha Barks (Éponine); Aaron Tveit (Enjolras)

NOTABLE SCENES (Top 6):

– “Do You Hear the People Sing?” – Enjolras, Grantaire, Students, Beggars
– “I Dreamed a Dream” – Fantine
– “Look Down” – Chain Gang, Javert, Valjean
– “One Day More” – Cast of Les Misérables
– “On My Own” – Éponine
– “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables” – Marius

Image3. Silver Linings Playbook (2012)

What an ensemble cast! A powerhouse, indeed. They did not overpower each other in terms of acting. Saw some issues which the movie wants to articulate (whether overtly or covertly) such as the potency of the Western biomedicine in bringing about results (Pat doesn’t take his medication yet he managed to cope with his illness through sheer force of will) and the medicalization of mental illnesses, among others.

I felt the souls of their characters as I was moved by empathy. I have some setbacks on the screenplay but they were offset by Russell’s sensitive direction. I couldn’t say more but praises for Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Jacki Weaver and Robert de Niro. Their Academy Award nominations are just tailor-made for them.

Image4. The Pianist (2002)

Took me back to the horrors and insanity of war and oppression. Brought me chills. Holocaust-themed movies will always make me cry. Two thumbs up for Roman Polanski’s exceptional directing and Adrien Brody’s impeccable acting. They’re really worth the Oscars. A phenomenal film.

Image5. Suspiria (1977) 

While doing a search for the best horror movies which I’ve never seen yet, I stumbled upon this 1977 Italian horror film directed by a certain Dario Argento.

I was stunned. Brilliant cinematography. Intelligent selections on musical effects and scoring (really gave me creeps). The use of vibrant colors is so stylistic. So visually-appealing. Not your typical horror film. I’m excited for this film’s remake which will be released this year.

Watch out for Part 2.😉

Leave a Reply

