A Glimpse of Noah’s Life

All throughout my life, I knew that God is with me always.

For 120 years, I had preached to the people only without success. No one had believed on me. They had continued to do things which are entirely contrary to the will of God. Physical appetites had controlled them. Materialism had overcome them. Violence and conflicts had become rampant. The love for pleasure and comfort had made them forget their spirituality for either belief or conduct. The society had gradually deteriorated. The morality of men had become obsolete all the more. But God still loves His people, even how sinful and disrespectful they had become. There has been a great increase in the population of the entire world, but God had seen that the wickedness of men was great in the earth, and that very thought of their hearts only contained evil, and nothing more. It had grieved God so much to the point that it had repented Him that He had made man on the earth.

But I had found grace in the sight of the Lord. I was known throughout the ages as Noah, the son of Lamech. My name literally means “rest.” I had three sons, and I am pretty sure that you all knew them by heart. Namely, they were Shem, Ham and Japheth. I was just an ordinary man living an ordinary life. At least that was the course of things before until God commissioned me to build an ark. Yes, an ark. A very enormous ark that could contain at least all the people who had inhabited the entire earth during my time. God has been precise and clear in His instructions to me.

“You shall make an ark of gopher wood,” thus, He said, “and there shall be rooms inside. Its length shall be 300 cubits, its breadth 50 cubits, and the height of it 30 cubits. You shall make a window to the ark, and its door you shall make also which you shall set in the side thereof; with lower, second and third stories you shall make it.

“For behold, I do bring a flood of waters upon the earth to destroy everything which has life; from under heaven and everything that is in the earth shall die.

“You shall come into the ark,” He continued, “you and your wife, as well as your sons and their wives. And of every living thing, you shall bring into the ark two of very sort to keep them alive. They shall be male and female. Also, take unto you food which all of you shall eat.”

It was a fine summer day but I did what God said according to what He had commanded me. I never asked further questions. I just built the ark right away. That might be the reason why the world during my time counted me as a lunatic and fool because there had never been a flood or proof of any like thing. Upon hearing that God would be sending great deluge to the earth, they just laughed and mocked me. I grieved for they just turned down the chance to be saved.

ImageAnd the floods came. The waters prevailed for forty days and nights, and the ark went upon the face of the waters. As it came to pass, the waters subsided and we found ourselves upon the barren mountains of Ararat. It seemed that the deluge finally ended. The seven of us went out from the ark and thanked God for His guidance and protection. A thought just came to me then. Obedience to God is undoubtedly the very best way to show that we believe in Him. Very well, my fellow believers. We just have to believe in God and walk to Him by faith.

 

*Originally entitled “Noah”; the official piece for the Character Impersonation Contest of the Berean Youth Contenders’ Talent Festival 2012. The facts were taken from Genesis 6-7.

Leave a Reply

